Non-Executive Recruitment

Trust Board

The Trust Board is the governing body of East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust, consisting of the Chairman, Non-Executive Directors and Executive Directors. 

The Board is responsible for the operational management of all hospitals and services and sets the direction for the future of the Trust. It does this by agreeing the Trust's objectives and plans for delivery of care and by monitoring performance. It also ensures the business of the Trust complies with national legislation, that the Trust has in place good financial controls and, above all, provides high quality care which offers value for money.


Professor Eileen Fairhurst

Eileen Fairhurst was appointed to the Trust on 9th February, 2014. She is a highly experienced Chairman and has chaired a number of large, complex public and third sector organisations, including acute, specialised mental health and primary care trusts. She established Salford PCT in 2001 which became one of the highest performing PCTs in the country. Latterly, she was the Chairman of NHS Greater Manchester, the largest PCT cluster in England. By April 1st 2013 NHS Greater Manchester had facilitated the establishment of twelve CCGs and the safe handover of PCT services to new receiving organisations in the ten Greater Manchester Metropolitan Borough Councils.

Chief Executive (Accountable Officer) - Joint Appointment with Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (from 1 May 2019)

Kevin McGee

Kevin is currently covering the role of Chief Executive at our neighbouring Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. Whilst he is still the overall Accountable Officer for the Trust, our Acting Chief Executive is Dr Damian Riley.

Outgoing Acting Chief Executive

Dr Damien Riley

Dr Riley is currently covering the role of Acting Chief Executive at the Trust whilst Kevin McGee temporarily takes up the CEO role at our neighboring Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. Kevin will remain the overall Accountable Officer for the Trust.

Dr Riley was formerly Medical Director at NHS England (West Yorkshire) where he led the mortality review for children’s cardiac surgery services in Leeds and co-chaired two recent ‘Keogh Reviews’ for hospitals in the north of England. He also championed improvements in dementia, stroke and cancer care for patients.

Director of Nursing

Christine Pearson

Chris trained at North Manchester General Hospital and qualified as an RGN in 1984. With a keen interest in patient safety she completed the Institute of Health Improvement Patient Safety Officer Course in 2009 in Boston USA and took the lead on patient safety initiatives within community services.

Interim Medical Director

Dr Ian Stanley

Dr Ian Stanley was appointed as Interim Medical Director in May 2019. Ian has been a Consultant in Anaesthetics and Critical Care at East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust since 2002 and was Deputy Medical Director from 2012.  He has previously acted into the role of Interim Medical Director from February 2014 to July 2015 being closely involved in the improvement plans which saw the trust come out of special measures.

Non-Executive Directors

Richard Smyth

Richard is a solicitor with more than 35 years of experience of regulatory issues and criminal litigation. He has had a highly successful career as a criminal lawyer and held senior positions in well-known law firms representing  a wide range of clients including global corporations and professional individuals.  His work has included compliance, governance and risk management advice as well as conduct of serious and complex criminal cases mainly within the context of business and finance. 

Stephen Barnes

Stephen Barnes was appointed to the Trust Board on 1 January 2015.

He has been a Local Government Chief Executive in Lancashire for the past 22 years and prior to that was a Director of Finance in Local Government for a further six years.

David Wharfe

David joined the NHS in Blackpool 1978 and qualified as an Accountant in 1985. He is an experienced Finance Director, having held a number of senior and Board level posts in NHS  across the country.

David secured his first Board post at Southport and Formby Health Authority in 1990, before becoming Director of Finance at Sefton Health Authority, following the merger of Health Authorities in Merseyside. David was also Acting Chief Executive in 2001-2 at Sefton Health Authority, prior to to the replacement of Health Authorities by Primary Care Trusts.

Naseem Malik

Naseem is a solicitor (no longer practicing) and she began her public sector career as a solicitor in Local Government. In 2003 Nassem was appointed as one of the founding Commissioners for the Independent Police Complaints Commission responsible for the North West region, a position she held for 10 years. Naseem is an experienced NED and she served on the Boards of the Blackburn with Darwen PCT and Lancashire Care Foundation Trust.

Non-Voting Members

Director of Service Development

Martin Hodgson

Martin Hodgson joined the Trust in November 2009, from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust where he was Executive Director of Children’s Services.  

He has considerable experience of implementing major strategic change, for example the reconfiguration of children’s services across Manchester and is involved in the development of vascular, urology and stroke services across Lancashire and South Cumbria.

Director of Communications and Engagement

Christine Hughes

Christine Hughes joined the Trust in February 2014 as interim director of communications.

She has had a long and successful career in communications in the NHS including at Preston Primary Care Trust and Mersey Care NHS Trust, a large provider of mental health care, where she was director of communications for 10 years. Following a highly productive interim period here in ELHT, she became a permanent member of the team in June 2016.

Director of Human Resources and Organisational Development

Kevin Moynes

Kevin joined the Trust on the 1st October 2013 as the Interim Director of HR and Organisational Development. He joined the NHS in 1978, qualifying as a Registered Nurse (RGN) in 1981 and later as a Registered Sick Children’s Nurse (RSCN) in 1986. He obtained his Master’s Degree in Nursing from the University of Bradford in 1993.

Associate Non-Executive Director

Mike Wedgeworth MBE

Mike Wedgeworth MBE joined NHS East Lancashire Hospitals Trust in April 2017. 

Mr Wedgeworth, has been the Chairman of Healthwatch Lancashire and formerly Chief Executive of Hyndburn Borough Council and Chair of Blackburn College, has held senior executive positions both locally and nationally for almost four decades. He now serves as an assistant priest at Blackburn Cathedral.

Associate Non-Executive Director

Professor Mike Thomas

Biog to follow

Associate Non-Executive Director

Feroza Patel

Prior to being appointed as an Associate Non-Executive Director Feroza was one of the Trust’s Shadow Public Governors for Blackburn with Darwen.  During her time as a Shadow Governor Feroza had worked with the Trust to work with staff and other patient representatives to develop services and improve the overall patient experience.

Associate Non-Executive Director

Harry Catherall

Harry began his career as an apprentice accountant at Tameside Borough Council aged 16. From there he moved into management at Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council, joining Blackburn with Darwen Council in 1997 as it prepared to be a unitary council. Harry has held a number of different positions at the local authority, starting as Deputy Director of Social Services and various Executive Director roles.